7/25/2013 5:57 P.M. ET
Fredi ejected after arguing call on Wright's hit
Mets third baseman awarded RBI triple on apparent ground-rule double
By Mark Bowman / MLB.com
NEW YORK -- Braves manager Fredi Gonzalez was ejected after David Wright was awarded a triple on what appeared to be a ground-rule double during the sixth inning of Thursday afternoon's 7-4 loss to the Mets at Citi Field.
Wright's long drive bounced off the warning track and appeared to hit the metal railing above the left-center-field wall. Braves center fielder Reed Johnson immediately raised his hands in the air, indicating that he assumed the umpires would rule the play a double.
As Johnson let the ball remain on the ground, Wright made his way toward third base and Daniel Murphy scored from first base on the play to give the Mets a 6-4 lead.
Gonzalez rushed toward third-base umpire Chad Fairchild, asking him to at least consult with the other umpires. When his request was not granted, he made his way toward the plate to talk to crew chief Jeff Kellogg.
As Gonzalez was talking to Kellogg, Fairchild walked toward the plate and resumed the argument that led him to toss the Braves' manager.
Two innings earlier, the umpires had correctly awarded Dan Uggla a two-run home run on a ball that hit the same black railing. The call was made without the assistance of video review. Because a home run was not in dispute, the umpires were not permitted to review Wright's long drive.
"I don't think I need a replay to know that I was right," Gonzalez said. "I thought the ball Uggla hit was a tougher call than that."
After briefly returning to the dugout, Gonzalez returned to the field to make sure Fairchild knew that Mets third-base coach Tim Teufel had held Murphy up at third base, indicating he also believed the disputed play would result in a ground-rule double.
"That's why instant replay keeps being brought up," Braves catcher Gerald Laird said. "For plays like that, it's kind of tough to have to call timeout and go look at it. It's just a matter of hustling out there and getting out there."
Kellogg declined to speak to a pool reporter who approached him as he was entering the umpire's room after the game.
Mark Bowman is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.