© 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/07/11 2:55 PM EST

Braves trio earns inaugural MLB.com honors

McCann, Kimbrel, Hudson recognized for 2011 seasons

ATLANTA -- Brian McCann and Craig Kimbrel were disappointed about the way they performed near the end of this past season. But as postseason honors have been announced over the past couple weeks, they have been reminded that their respective seasons, as a whole, were far from disappointing.

McCann and Kimbrel have added to their list of postseason honors by being recognized by MLB.com as two of the Braves' top performers this year. The website has recognized McCann as the team's Player of the Year, Tim Hudson as the team's Pitcher of the Year, and Kimbrel as the team's Breakout Player of the Year.

Last week, McCann became the first player to win five Silver Slugger Awards while playing for the Braves. The 27-year-old six-time All-Star is now one of six catchers to win this honor at least five times.

Team Awards 2011

McCann batted just .180 with six home runs in the 37 games he played after seemingly rushing back from the disabled list in August. But he was one of the club's most reliable threats through the season's first four months and still ended up leading the team with an .817 OPS (on-base percentage plus slugging percentage).

McCann batted .270 and matched a career high with 24 home runs.

Kimbrel and McCann were both selected to the Sporting News' National League All-Star team.

This was just one of the many honors recently bestowed upon Kimbrel, who is the front-runner to be win the NL Rookie of the Year Award when the Baseball Writers' Association of America announces the winner on Nov. 14. The 23-year-old closer was also named the NL's Most Outstanding Rookie during last week's Players Choice Awards.

Kimbrel set a Major League rookie record with 46 saves, and he posted a 2.10 ERA while compiling 77 innings in 79 appearances -- the second-highest total for any big league pitcher.

The hard-throwing closer recorded 127 strikeouts in 77 innings and limited opponents to a .178 batting average. Before blowing three of his final five save opportunities, he had worked 37 1/3 scoreless innings dating back to the middle of June.

Hudson proved to be the most reliable asset in a starting rotation that missed Jair Jurrjens and Tommy Hanson's contributions down the stretch.

Hudson went 16-10 with a 3.22 ERA in 32 starts. The 36-year-old veteran led the team in wins and innings pitched (215). He earned three of the nine wins the Braves totaled during their disappointing September.

National Awards
MVP Cy Young Rookie of the Year
John Evers1914Warren Spahn1957Alvin Dark1948
Robert Elliott1947Tom Glavine1991Samuel Jethroe1950
Hank Aaron1957Greg Maddux1993Earl Williams1971
Dale Murphy1982Greg Maddux1994Bob Horner1978
Dale Murphy1983Greg Maddux1995David Justice1990
Terry Pendleton1991John Smoltz1996Rafael Furcal2000
Chipper Jones1999Tom Glavine1998
Manager of the Year Hank Aaron Award Roberto Clemente Award
Bobby Cox1991Andruw Jones2005John Smoltz2005
Bobby Cox2004
Bobby Cox2005
Rawlings Gold Glove Silver Slugger
Del Crandall, C1958Dale Murphy, OF1982
Hank Aaron, OF1958Dale Murphy, OF1983
Hank Aaron, OF1959Dale Murphy, OF1984
Del Crandall, C1959Dale Murphy, OF1985
Hank Aaron, OF1960Tom Glavine, P1991
Del Crandall, C1960Ron Gant, OF1991
Del Crandall, C1962Fred McGriff, 1B1993
Joe Torre, C1965David Justice, OF1993
Felix Millan, 2B1969Tom Glavine, P1995
Clete Boyer, 3B1969Tom Glavine, P1996
Felix Millan, 2B1972John Smoltz, P1997
Phil Niekro, P1978Jeff Blauser, SS1997
Phil Niekro, P1979Tom Glavine, P1998
Phil Niekro, P1980Chipper Jones, 3B1999
Phil Niekro, P1982Chipper Jones, 3B2000
Dale Murphy, OF1982Gary Sheffield, OF2003
Phil Niekro, P1983Javy Lopez, C2003
Dale Murphy, OF1983Mike Hampton, P2003
Dale Murphy, OF1984Johny Estrada, C2004
Dale Murphy, OF1985Andruw Jones, OF2005
Dale Murphy, OF1986Brian McCann, C2006
Terry Pendleton, 3B1992Brian McCann, C2008
Greg Maddux, P1993Brian McCann, C2009
Greg Maddux, P1994
Greg Maddux, P1995
Marquis Grissom, OF1995
Greg Maddux, P1996
Marquis Grissom, OF1996
Greg Maddux, P1997
Greg Maddux, P1998
Andruw Jones, OF1998
Greg Maddux, P1999
Andruw Jones, OF1999
Greg Maddux, P2000
Andruw Jones, OF2000
Greg Maddux, P2001
Andruw Jones, OF2001
Greg Maddux, P2002
Andruw Jones, OF2002
Mike Hampton, P2003
Andruw Jones, OF2004
Andruw Jones, OF2005
Andruw Jones, OF2006
Andruw Jones, OF2007
Jeff Francoeur, OF2007

Mark Bowman is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.