© 2009 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

09/15/09 1:00 PM ET

Braves will open 2010 season vs. Cubs

Schedule announced, club to finish facing NL East rivals

ATLANTA -- The Braves will open the 2010 season with a three-game series against the Cubs at Turner Field.

According to the preliminary schedules that were released on Tuesday afternoon, the Braves will open next season with an April 5 game against the Cubs. This will mark the first time since 2004 that the Braves have opened the season in Atlanta.

Next year's Interleague schedule will bring the Rays (June 15-17) Royals (June 18-20) and Tigers (June 25-27) to Turner Field. The Braves will visit the Twins (June 11-13) and White Sox (June 22-24).

The Braves will not be playing the Red Sox or the Yankees during the 2010 season.

After concluding the opening three-game series against the Cubs, the Braves will embark on a six-game West Coast road swing. Their initial trip to California will pit them against the Giants (April 9-11) and Padres (April 12, 14-15).

When the Braves return home, they'll stage a three-game series against the Rockies (April 16-18) and then begin divisional play with a three-game series against the Phillies (April 20-22). The Mets will visit Atlanta for a two-game series in May and won't return again until the first week of August.

Albert Pujols and the Cardinals will make their only visit to Atlanta during a four-game series that is set for Sept. 9-12. The Dodgers will visit Atlanta from Aug. 13-16.

The final week of the 2010 regular season could prove to be interesting. The Braves will host the Marlins from Sept. 27-29 and then welcome the Phillies for a season-ending three-game set (Oct. 1-3).

Mark Bowman is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.